The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2022

This annual award celebrates the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the late 20th century while aiming to encourage all talent in the craft of furniture design and making.

Any woodworker who’s a resident citizen of the British Isles, over the age of 18, with a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture, is invited to submit up to two pieces made primarily of wood. These can also include, if applicants so wish, other complementary materials that echo Alan Peters’ design philosophy. Judging is based on the appropriate use of material, quality of workmanship, functionality, as well as originality of design.


Alan Peters' infamous 'Fan' table

Both one-off designs and potential batch-produced designs are encouraged and the piece(s) doesn’t have to be large. Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read organiser Jeremy Broun’s 64-page online video-integrated e-book, which is offered free-of-charge here: here.


The man behind the award
Alan Peters OBE (1933–2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the latter part of the 20th century. He was apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and had a direct link to the English Arts and Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications. Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, while moving tradition forward, resulted in the creation of many timeless pieces. He created affordable, functional furniture, which was built to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations.

History of the award
The original award was called ‘The Alan Peters Award For Excellence’ and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010. The prize was offered to three winners, each of whom were given free exhibition space alongside the professionals at his annual furniture event in Cheltenham. The award ran for eight years and the judging panel comprised of Jason Heap, Keith Newton and Jeremy Broun.

Following the success of the 2021 online award, it’s hoped that this year there will be a physical exhibition along with a judging ceremony. Further details are yet to be announced.


Jeremy Broun – Organiser – designer-maker and co-exhibitor with Alan Peters from 1978–2002

Andrew Lawton – Designer-maker who worked with Alan Peters as well as on his last commission

Freya Whamond – Yorkshire-based woodworker and furniture designer-maker

Woodland Heritage – Patron of The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2022


Woodland Heritage was established as a charity 27 years ago, in 1994, by two cabinetmakers keen to ‘put something back’. A membership-based organisation, the charity supports the resilient management of woodlands, development of the timber supply chain, furthering of knowledge and skills within the forestry and timber sectors as well as within the general public, and tackling of threats to the future supply of high-quality UK timber.


2019 winner of Woodland Heritage’s ‘Best Use of British Timber Award’Adrian McCurdy’s ‘Ark’

As well as running the popular ‘From Woodland to Workshop’ courses and a Field Weekend each year, Woodland Heritage produces an annual Journal for its members. For many years, the charity sponsored the ‘Best use of British Timber’ award at the Celebration of Craftsmanship & Design exhibition in Cheltenham, which recognised the creative talents of both established woodworkers and those relatively new to making.

Since 2016, Woodland Heritage has owned Whitney Sawmills in Herefordshire, with its support for research into Acute Oak Decline dating back to 2009, since which time £2.5m has been raised to tackle this threat to our most popular tree. HRH The Prince of Wales has been Patron of Woodland Heritage since 2005. For more information, see


1ST PRIZE: £1,000 Axminster Tools voucher

2ND PRIZE: £500 English Woodlands Timber voucher

3RD PRIZE: Judges’ prize

This award is open to any resident citizen of the British Isles, aged over 18, who has an enthusiasm and flair for woodworking. A piece of furniture – indoor or outdoor – is to be made and six high resolution JPEG images submitted, together with a Word document description.

Shortlisted applicants will be asked to engage in a Zoom video call or submit a one-minute mobile phone video introducing themselves and describing the piece(s).

Judging of entries will take place in August followed by an exhibition(s) in September – exact dates TBA

It’s important to get designing and making straight away, as the submission deadline is 31 July 2022. To download an application form and view the free 64-page e-book, click here.

The entry form can be found at the right of the page. Payment for entry can also be made securely via the website.

For further information, contact either Group Editor Tegan Foley or organiser Jeremy Broun.



1ST PRIZE: Overall winner of The Alan Peters Online Furniture Award 2021: Andrew Lapthorn’s ‘Remnant’ table


2ND PRIZE: Aidan Donovan’s ‘WAGA’ table in English elm


3RD PRIZE: Nick Newlands’ ‘Art Chest’ in cherry and sycamore






The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2022

Login using Get Woodworking Login